h1

August 4th the #Trollhol

July 27, 2013

I graduated at the age of 46. I was a single Mum (they are all grown up now) in a poorly paid job that of a cleaner/caretaker (I still am, job anyone) and until I started my degree I had a voice but only I could hear it, I was a feminist but a directionless one. My degree if nothing else gave me the confidence to Tweet and to blog, I can’t begin to explain how liberating it has been for me in a world that isolates, marginalises and tries to victimise women like me. I still get ignored but now I know it’s not by everyone and I have connected with many women that feel the same. I love the #SHOUTINGBACK and #silentnomore #BankNotes campaigns on Twitter, also @everydaysexism @thewomensroom @EVB_now . I love that I have my voice back, I LOVE listening to the voices of other women. This is why I can’t take part in the Twitter silence suggested for the 4th of August, I wont be silenced again. I understand why celebs think it’s a good idea for them they already have voices separate from Twitter. I can’t help but think that we should feed the Trolls, feed them so much that their stomachs burst with the realisation that they are just the noisy minority. Thunderclap anyone? https://www.thunderclap.it/ Women are not a minority and whether you identify with being a feminist or not abuse is wrong. 

Leave a Reply

Just another WordPress.com site

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

feministmeup

Lady things, explained.

norfolknonaligned.wordpress.com/

"I have long argued that the giving of offence, and even hate speech, should be a moral matter but not a matter for the criminal law. That is as true on the football pitch as on the streets. We should always challenge racism. We should also always challenge attacks on liberties in the guise of faux antiracism." Kenan Malik

