Archive for July 27th, 2013

h1

August 4th the #Trollhol

July 27, 2013

I graduated at the age of 46. I was a single Mum (they are all grown up now) in a poorly paid job that of a cleaner/caretaker (I still am, job anyone) and until I started my degree I had a voice but only I could hear it, I was a feminist but a directionless one. My degree if nothing else gave me the confidence to Tweet and to blog, I can’t begin to explain how liberating it has been for me in a world that isolates, marginalises and tries to victimise women like me. I still get ignored but now I know it’s not by everyone and I have connected with many women that feel the same. I love the #SHOUTINGBACK and #silentnomore #BankNotes campaigns on Twitter, also @everydaysexism @thewomensroom @EVB_now . I love that I have my voice back, I LOVE listening to the voices of other women. This is why I can’t take part in the Twitter silence suggested for the 4th of August, I wont be silenced again. I understand why celebs think it’s a good idea for them they already have voices separate from Twitter. I can’t help but think that we should feed the Trolls, feed them so much that their stomachs burst with the realisation that they are just the noisy minority. Thunderclap anyone? https://www.thunderclap.it/ Women are not a minority and whether you identify with being a feminist or not abuse is wrong. 

Just another WordPress.com site

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

feministmeup

Lady things, explained.